Reflections from a Short-Term Mission Trip

By Sashá Nícole García, Judson University, 2014

Sasha with an adolescent motherI was so nervous for this mission trip. The day before I had just graduated, and I had so many emotions going through my mind. I didn’t know if I was ready for the eight hour flight, but, looking back, I am glad I came on this trip. Being part of this trip has changed my view of God’s love tremendously. At times, being at the shelter was heart-wrenching as we heard about what some of the girls have gone through, but it was also so rewarding to be there and see the girls smile and have a positive outlook for their futures.

Of our team, I was one of the few who could speak Spanish, so it was easier for me to communicate with everybody. At times, I felt overwhelmed because people kept asking me to translate this or that, but I was very happy to be able to help my team members understand and to help the girls communicate. God gave me patience and helped me see what was going on around me and not focus so much on myself. One of my favorite days was the spa day for Mother’s Day. It was such a humbling experience to paint the girls’ nails, do their hair and makeup, and give pedicures and manicures.

Spa DayThey had such joy on their faces, as they enjoyed things that young girls should enjoy. It put such a big smile on my face seeing their amazement at the different makeup tools, eye shadows, and colors. Even through all the hurt these girls have gone through, they still have the will to smile, and I saw God so strong in the shelter. I have a special place in my heart for Peru now. I am so thankful for this trip because brought me to see God in a whole new light.

Leave a Reply

